top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachelle Saint Louis

Commuter Chronicles #7

Has it really been this long?

Oct. 1st to the 5th



Monday went pretty well. I met with my mentor for the first time. She is wonderful. Whatever software the Mentoring Project is using to match people up, they've definitely got it right. She is everything I could have asked for and more. I'm so excited to continue this.


I went back to the office after meeting with my mentor. The usual cast was there plus Jerry.


I had my lab practical and it wasn't too bad.


On Tuesday, I visited my old high school. I had a great time and saw a lot of the adults that helped me get to where I am today. I got to speak to a class of high school freshmen and sophomores. They had so many misconceptions about college and scholarships and I was happy to help them out.



I got to my classes my math class on time and it went well. During my hour between precalc and bio I went to The Office. I had my midterm for Bio Tuesday and it was definitely not as easy as the first test. I ended up getting 40/50, not my best but he did say that was going to be the most difficult exam of the semester. The next two exams will be worth more points so I still have some wiggle room.


I got through the exam in about half an hour. I didn't stay for Cru this week because I had plans with my brother. We went to go see the new movie Small Foot with his girlfriend and her sister. I had a geat time and you can check out my review for that here.


On Wednesday, I got to the school around 10 am which is honestly the worse time to get there. It took me nearly an hour to get a parking spot. I practically had to run to class but I was still a few minutes late. I'm used to this on Wednesdays now.


After class, I went to The Office and talked to Alex, Liona, Ron, and Milagro. Ron is still working on getting me that job, I hope it works out. I walked with Liona toward the Breezeway to our separate classes. We talked about her relationship which was interesting.


The Career Center was giving out pizza on the Breezeway. It was pretty good and held me together for the next two classes. Social Psychology went well and my quiz in Precalc wasn't bad.


Afterward I went to The Office, talked for a bit, then met up with Mia. We went to this Japanese restaurant near the school. It's actually pretty close to Cinnaholic (the place we went to last time). The food was really good and they give you a lot for what you pay for. I had a great time.





After that, I came back to the school and went rock climbing. I got to the top, talked for a while, then went home. All in all, a pretty good day.


On Thursday, I got some blood work done in the morning. It was nothing serious, just a check-up. After hanging out with my mom for a bit, I went off to school. I got a parking spot on the third floor and I went to The Office where I saw just about everyone. It's nice having a place where I can talk to people. Mia was taking a quiz for her online class while we were there. Alex helped me with my Orientation Leader application.


After my Precalc class, I went back to The Office where Jerry and Darnell got me spooked because our Bio professor's 8 am class had a quiz so we started reading through the book before class. We ended up not having a quiz because Professor Brooks felt like it wouldn't be fair to the 8 am class since they hadn't been prepared.


After class, I went to my car to get some more comfortable clothes to change into for the Latin Fest that my friend Alexis had invited me to. I had a great time and learned how to dance Bachata. I invited a friend from class to come, too. The three of us stayed pretty close throughout it. There was this one dude that kept hovering around us a little too much so we ended up leaving. Alexis and my other friend went home but I decided to go to the Karaoke Night that Caribbean Student Association was hosting. I played a round of Laser Tag in the Student Union and then went back to the Karaoke. It was a fun night and I stayed at the school way longer than usual.


I got a Night Owl ride back to my car after the event since it was pretty dark out.


On Friday, I had my one class and then went to The Office. I talked to Alex and we decided to schedule the sugar scrub session for the end of the semester. I asked Ron for an update about the job I applied to on Tuesday and his exact quote was: "I have an update for you." And after I asked what the update was he said "The update is that today is Friday." In that moment I realized just how much of a dad Ron is. He practically bleeds out dad jokes.



What I learned today:


Monday: My mentor is the best, I don't know how that system does it but whatever they're doing, they're doing it right.


Tuesday: I should use my experiences to help out the next generation of college students, starting at my alma mater.


Wednesday: Boca isn't as expensive as I thought. There are a lot of great places to eat that are also pretty affordable.


Thursday: Don't go to events alone. Invite your friends and if you don't have friends, go make some.


Friday: Ron is such a dad.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page