top of page
  • Writer's pictureRachelle Saint Louis

Commuter Chronicles #8

Oct. 8th to the 12th


On Monday, my day was pretty eventful. I got to all my classes on time and went to the Circle K meeting at the start of my 3 hour gap. There weren't very many members but it was a meeting at noon on a Monday, so I guess that could be part of the reason that only four other people were there.


The meeting ended up going well and the FAU chapter of CKI is actually pretty young, it's only been around for a year or so. I think I could really help this club get bigger. It's Key Club all over again for me.


After CKI, I went to The Office. It was pretty full and I asked if anyone wanted to go to the Breezeway with me to buy my lunch. Leona agreed to come and we talked about school and life and whatnot. It was a good time. I got my burrito bowl and she got coffee.


I hung out in The Office for another hour until I had to go to Lab. Our teacher hadn't posted the Practical Exam grades yet because she had gotten the flu over the weekend. The lab was super long because we had to do both section 7 and 8, which she hadn't told us about before. That class is such a mess.


After class, I went to the NCNW Marketing Committee meeting in one of the residence dorms. I saw Tia (who I met last week) on my way there and we started talking. We met some other people who were waiting for the meeting and we all started chatting. Our committee chairs were pretty late, but they had some valid excuses. Once they got there, the meeting started getting along and we started planning out tabling and little events we could do on the Breezeway for Breast Cancer Awareness and upcoming holidays.


I went to the Chik Fil A by the library after the meeting with one of the other girls I'd met there. I ordered fries and waited a little before leaving for my last meeting of the night.


I had another meeting for the organization I volunteer with and the walk we're doing on Sunday. That meeting went well and we all got our staff shirts. After that meeting, I started talking to one of the girls there who I'd gone to high school with. We spent a good half hour or so catching up and it was honestly a really good talk. I feel like the conversations I have in college are so much more fulfilling than the ones I had in high school.


On Tuesday, I had my second session with CAPS. I've improved a ton these past two weeks so I'll be taking a break from treatment, but my therapist let me know that I can always schedule another appointment if anything changes.


Our session ended really early, so I was able to walk along the Breezeway and talk to people. I saw Ken You the peer coach, who I hadn't seen since last week. I told him how his advice about going to see my cousin didn't work since my cousin wasn't even home and Ken You laughed at the irony. His friend was sitting at the table with him and she is the sweetest. She asked me about my week and how I'm doing with my classes. I love people like that. We need more people like her in the world.



They were selling posters in the Breezeway, some as little as $5. I saw a couple I liked, but nothing that really stood out to me, so I ended up not buying any. I was looking at the posters for a little too long so I had to rush to my Precalc class. My teacher came a few minutes after I did, so I wasn't late late.


After Precalc, I went to The Office with Joselynne. We saw Ken You rapping on our way there but Joselynne didn't have time to spit a verse. We had a lot of the usual crowd in The Office, it was a good place to relax before class. Two First and Proud students had just gotten back from a conference in Georgia and they were telling us all about it. It sounded great and it was super bougie. I enjoyed hearing them talk about it, especially how excited they were about the internships they were applying for because of the conference.


Biodiversity went well, we ended class with a video of a puppy barking at a ghost crap. After class, I went to the Code-Switching discussion that Black Student Union was having. We started the meeting off with musical chairs before we got into the discussion. It was very informative and we also did some fun skits.


After BSU, I went to Cru where Keke was preaching about mental health and how it should be acknowledged more in the church. It was a beautiful message and she also talked about her own personal struggles with mental health.


After Cru, we all headed to the Burrow. I went to the Caf where Stephanie, a friend of a friend, swiped me in. Alexis got into a bit of a Biblical debate with Jared (a youth pastor) and it got pretty interesting. I met some new people and had a great time. I got home pretty late that night, but then again, 9:30 is pretty late to me.


On Wednesday, I got a great parking spot on the second floor of the parking garage, super close to the elevator. And here's the catch, I got it within ten minutes of getting to the school. Considering the fact that it was 10:40, that's a miracle.


My SLS class was meeting in the Healthy Owls Health Promotion Center that morning. There we learned about staying healthy in college and taking out time for self-care. They ended pretty late, it was five minutes till twelve when they let us out.


My mentor had texted me the night before about how CAPS would be doing a drum circle near the Breezeway. It was right outside the building of my 12:30 class. I tried my hand at the huge drums (and a few other instruments) for a good twenty minutes or so until I had to get to class. It was so much fun!


After my last class, I went to The Office to meet up with Mia so we could go out to lunch. We ended up going to Chipotle this week and it was sooo much better than Chik n Grill. I missed that good guac.


After I dropped Mia off at the library, I went to the rock climbing course. It started raining right after I parked, so I stayed in my car until the rain passed. There was a beautiful rainbow afterward.



I tried climbing on one of the harder sides, just to try it. I couldn't even make it to the middle, but I definitely felt the burn in my arms. I ended up getting to the top of the side that I find easier, even though I was definitely wearing the wrong kind of shoes. After climbing to the top, I left to go to the Gospel Xplosion that Konbit Kreyol, one of the Haitian organizations on campus, was hosting. The flyer said that doors opened at 6:30, but it didn't say that the event would be starting at Haitian time. It didn't officially start until 7:30.


I had met up with Stefanie, who I met on Tuesday through one of my friends from high school. We saw a few other girls we knew and we all sat together. I didn't get to stay for the whole thing, but I definitely enjoyed what I saw. They had a lot of singing (voices of angels, honestly), some praise dancing, and a spoken word artist. It was a great experience, even if I was only there for the first hour.


Thursday was a chill day, I went through my usual routine of going to class and to The Office. I saw Jerry and Darnell and we walked to our Biodiversity class together. We ended up having an extra credit quiz that I didn't do too well on, but at least it was only worth one point.

After class, I went to the library to do a little studying for Bio before the charity basketball match hosted by NCNW. Sybrina Fulton, Trayvon Martin's mom, was there to speak. She gave an uplifting speech about how we are the generation that can make a serious change. The proceeds from the match are going towards the Trayvon Martin Foundation.


My cousin was playing for Konbit Kreyol's team so I finally got to see him. I haven't seen the man in weeks. I had a great time, but I didn't stay for the whole thing. I left around 10, but the last match didn't end until almost midnight.


On Friday, there was an accident on I-95 so it took me well over 40 minutes to get to school. I had a really bad grade on my lab practical so I emailed my TA about meeting her outside of her usual office hours. We met in her office and she went over the practical with me. Then she told me how she'd be curving the exam since the whole class did terrible. She also gave me some much needed tips about the quizzes and how to study for them.


My classes went well and I left campus right after to meet up with my family at the Morikami Gardens and Japanese Museum in Delray. We had a wonderful time, but that's a story for another blog post.



Things I learned this week:


Monday: I love taking on projects. I've found a few that I can start on at FAU and I'm excited for them.


Tuesday: The Bible is open to interpretation and having these conversations about our interpretations can really help us build in our faith.


Wednesday: There's so much to do at FAU. I go to something different every day and it still feels like I've only hit the tip of the iceberg.


Thursday: There are a lot of activities happening on campus at night. It's great to branch out.


Friday: It's a good idea to go to office hours, especially if you're struggling in the class. Also, family time is a form of self care.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page